Corporate and Community Education

Defensive Driving: Point Reduction

Dates: June 15, 2019

Meets: Sa from 8:15 AM to 5:15 PM

Location: AQ 015 - Anderson QuickJobs Center, Computer Lab

Registration/Tuition: $89.00

Untitled 2

South Carolina Point Reduction Program
You will learn how to avoid accidents by recognizing situations where accidents are most likely to occur and how to react defensively. Developed by the National Safety Council and taught by NSC certified instructors. Class can only be taken once every three years for point reduction.

Completion of the National Safety Council's Defensive Driving 8-Hour Course can be used for up to a four point reduction in a driver's Motor Vehicle Record.

If you have received a citation and have not forfeited the required fee but intend to appear in court, the class must be completed after this court date and after the points have been posted to your driving record. That is, if the points are not posted to your driving record at the time the Highway Department receives notification of the course being completed, no credit will be given. We will not make any adjustments or delays in reporting the actual date that you complete this course.

  •  Point reduction is good once every three (3) years.
  • If an individual has one, two, or three points assessed against his/her Motor Vehicle Record and the individual requests point reduction, he/she will be given however many points showing on their MVR at this time, and will not be eligible to receive point reduction again for three (3) years.
  • South Carolina law allows up to twelve (12) points before license suspension occurs.
  • The Defensive Driving Course cannot be used to reinstate a point suspension that has terminated. Suspension candidates are notified by the South Carolina Department of Public Safety and given a date in which they may be reinstated. After this date they are not eligible for point reduction.
  • When the South Carolina Department of Public Safety issues a suspension notice and point reduction has been submitted, the individual should not drive until he/she has contacted the Driver Service Department, or has received a renewal driver license.
  • The Defensive Driving Course is taught throughout South Carolina at the Technical College System locations. Individuals completing the Defensive Driving Course at any of these locations will automatically receive a point reduction unless they request otherwise. All Technical College point reduction rosters are submitted weekly to the South Carolina Highway Department.
  • If time is critical in the point reduction process, the entire, original Completion Certificate should be hand carried to the Driver Service Window at 1630 Shop Road in Columbia, SC.
  • All questions regarding driver license status or violation information should be referred to Driver Service at 803-896-5000.

Notes:

What the course will do: 1. This is an 8-hour course, composed of lectures, classroom demonstrations and 8 short movie films. There is no actual in-car road training involved. REGISTRANT MUST HOLD DRIVERS LICENSE OR LEARNERS PERMIT. 2. Successful completion of this course will remove up to 4 points from your SC driving record UNLESS these points were assessed for DUI type offences. If you have less than 4 points posted to your driving record, you can only get credit for that number of points. You can not hold a credit balance in reserve to apply against any points recorded in the future. 3. The course can only be taken for point credit once every (3) three years. 4. It will take six to eight weeks for your record of attendance to work its way back to your driving record from the Palmetto Safety Council to the Highway Department in Columbia. We submit your completion record the next work day after you complete the course. 5. If you have received a citation and have not forfeited the required fee but intend to appear in court, the class must be completed after this court date and after the points have been posted to your driving record. That is, if the points are not posted to your driving record at the time the Highway Department receives notification of the course being completed, no credit will be given. We will not make any adjustments or delays in reporting the actual date that you complete this course. What it will not do: 1. It will not remove these citations from your driving record and will not affect the points charged by your insurance company. 2. This course will not restore the driving privilege for a person who has been suspended for DUI.
Fee: $89.00
Clock Hours:8.00
CEUs:0.80

AQ 015 - Anderson QuickJobs Center, Computer Lab

The Anderson Quickjobs Center is located at 512 Michelin Boulevard, Anderson, SC (across the street from the Anderson Campus).

Arthur Chisholm


OR

Share

Email Information to Friend Print